Molly Matalon
nyc
b. 1991

mollymatalon@gmail.com

www.mollymatalon.com


→ Oct 2014

mullitover:

JONATHAN CHERRY: What did you want to be growing up?

MOLLY MATALON: When I was growing up I honestly never thought about what I wanted to “be”. I liked animals, taking pictures and punk music…I liked traveling and thought I would be a flight attendant. Then I just ended up at art school.

JC: Who or what is inspiring you at the moment?

MM: I am most inspired by my friends making work all the time. Corey Olsen, Zak Krevitt, Damien Maloney, Caroline Tompkins, Mike and Claire, Rob Kulisek, Ryan Lowry, Lauren Cook Vivian Fu, Tim O’Connell, Tim Schutsky, Thomas McCarty, and Frankie Carino. I’m also inspired by old yearbook pictures, pictures of people in water, sunsets in California, and this group of 16 year olds I teach every summer in the black and white darkroom.

JC: What are you up to right now?

MM: Right now… I am writing some emails to editors, cooking vegan buffalo wings and stamping dust off of scanned negatives.

JC: Have you had mentors along the way?

MM: I am lucky enough to have just graduated from an amazing photography program at the School of Visual Arts. Joe Maida, Lyle Rexer, Willian Nabers, and Ellen Wallenstein are some teachers I had that I consider a mentor.

JC: Where are you based right now and how is it shaping you?

MM: I live in Brooklyn, NY. I have lived here for the past 4 years. It has shaped me to be an even harder worker than I am and keeps me on my toes. It has also fully exhausted me at the same time.

JC: One piece of advice to photography graduates?

MM: You get out of life as much as you put into it. You have to work hard. No one is going to come knocking on your door saying “oh i heard you take pictures…” Organize your negatives. Once I had a teacher tell me…”if you don’t like pictures taken during overcast, wait a day and go out when it’s sunny… but always go out and make pictures”

JC: If all else fails - what is your plan B?

MM: There is no plan B.

JC: Is it important to you to be a part of a creative community?

MM: I would not be who I am without my creative community. It’s vital to be around people who are all working towards similar goals but on different paths. I love photography and so do all my friends, there is nothing better than that.

@mullitovercc

good morning thanks mull it over

→ Oct 2014 Damien in Buffalo, NY 2014

Damien in Buffalo, NY 2014

→ Oct 2014 Ryan 2014

Ryan 2014

→ Oct 2014 Vivian w/ pasta, SF 2014

Vivian w/ pasta, SF 2014

→ Oct 2014 Featured on The Wild Magazine today

Featured on The Wild Magazine today

→ Oct 2014 vuu-studio:

2013 - 2014Molly Matalon44 Pages7.5 x 9.5 inchesSaddle stitchedDigitally printedEdition of 250First Edition - September 2014Published by VUU

*Currently available at vuu-studio.com

vuu-studio:

2013 - 2014
Molly Matalon

44 Pages
7.5 x 9.5 inches
Saddle stitched
Digitally printed
Edition of 250

First Edition - September 2014

Published by VUU

*Currently available at vuu-studio.com

→ Oct 2014

tammymercure:

First, let me apologize for preaching to the choir. Everyone I know on Tumblr has been super cool and one of the reasons I love Tumblr is there is a lot of built-in equity.

Selektor Magazine just posted the first 100 photographers that they have featured. It really bummed me out to see only 8 or so women on there. Everyone can have their personal taste and I don’t mean any neg to Loic or the magazine, but there is still systematic sexism at work in the photo world. Men still get more gallery shows/features because they get more press for it and then they get more press because they get more gallery shows/features, etc etc. I’ve been slowly making wikipedia pages for notable woman photographers and it has been really eye-opening on what wikipedia considers credible resources and how few are available online for undeniably notable women. 

I’ve seen great strides in equity for women and people with diverse backgrounds in publications like VICE and most places on Tumblr. With power shifting out from the typical places there has been so much cool stuff happening- tons of amazing self published books, pop-up galleries, collectives, and more. I love Tumblr because people can use it to express themselves in whatever manner they choose and it is easy to find true friends and inspiration here.

I quickly made a list of awesome women photographers on tumblr if you are looking for some fine people to follow. (And sorry if I missed someone I love in my haste to make a list.) And feel free to message me with people you think I’d love!

Michelle K Anderson http://michelleka.tumblr.com/

Courtney Asztalos http://courtneyasztalos.tumblr.com/

Vivien Ayroles http://blog.vivienayroles.fr/

Sophie Barbasch http://sophiebarbasch.tumblr.com/

Kendrick Brinson http://kendrickbrinson.tumblr.com/

Hannah Burton http://hannahburtonphotography.tumblr.com/

Jessica Dean Camp http://jessicadeancamp.tumblr.com/

Marisha Camp http://marishacamp.tumblr.com/

Sam Cannon http://samcannon.tumblr.com/

Lindsay D’Addato http://lindsaydaddato.tumblr.com/

Rebecca Drolen http://rebeccadrolen.tumblr.com/

Jessica Eaton http://jessicaeaton.tumblr.com/

Jen Ervin http://jenervinblog.tumblr.com/

Lynley Faith http://lynleyfaith.tumblr.com/

Sarah Amy Fishlock http://sarahamyfishlock.tumblr.com/

Vivian Fu http://vivian-fu.tumblr.com/

Lydia Garnett http://lydiagarnett.tumblr.com/

Marisa Gertz http://marisagertz.tumblr.com/

Lisa Gidley http://lisagidley.tumblr.com/

Michelle Groskopf  http://dailystreet.tumblr.com/

Alexis Gross http://alexisgrossphotography.tumblr.com/

Marcie Hancock http://marciehancock.tumblr.com/

Becky Harlan http://beckyharlan.tumblr.com/

Molly Hayes http://mollyhayes.tumblr.com/

Cynthia Henebry http://marciehancock.tumblr.com/

Hobbes http://hhobbess.tumblr.com/

Jenny Hueston http://jennyhueston.tumblr.com/

Elizabeth Huey http://elizabeth-huey.tumblr.com/

Janna Ireland http://blog.jannaireland.com

Marta Iwanek http://martaiwanek.tumblr.com/

Julie Renee Jones http://juliereneejones.tumblr.com/

Megan King http://megangking.tumblr.com/

Cait Kovac http://caitkovac.tumblr.com/

Stacy Kranitz http://stacykranitz.tumblr.com/

Allyson Lamb http://allysonannelamb.tumblr.com/

Lodoe Laura http://lodoelaura.tumblr.com/

Kate Levy http://katelevyphotography.tumblr.com/

Morgan Rachel Levy http://morganrlevy.tumblr.com/

Amy Lombard http://amylombard.tumblr.com/

Yael Malka http://yaelmalka.tumblr.com/

Colleen Mann http://colleenmann.tumblr.com/

Maidje Marilyn http://www.maidjemarilyn.com/

Alex Matzke http://alexmatzke.tumblr.com/

Brittany Marcoux http://brittanymarcoux.tumblr.com/

Molly Matalon http://mollymatalon.tumblr.com/

Noelle McCleaf http://noellemccleaf.tumblr.com/

Ruth McMilan http://www.ruthmcm.com/

Lindsay Metivier http://lindsaymetivier.tumblr.com/

Elaine Catherine Miller http://ecmiller.tumblr.com/

Sarah Katherine Moore http://sarahkatherinemoore.tumblr.com/

Andrea Morales http://andreamoralesphoto.tumblr.com/

Eva O’Leary http://evaoleary.tumblr.com/

Cait Oppermann http://caitoppermann.tumblr.com/

Elle Perez http://elleperez.tumblr.com/

Helena Price http://blog.helenaprice.com/

Missy Prince http://seaofempties.tumblr.com/

Laurel Ptak http://laurelptak.com/

Lyndsey Putt http://lyndseyputt.tumblr.com/

Lola Quivororon http://lolalolaquivoron.tumblr.com/

Tamara Reynolds http://tamarareynoldsphotography.tumblr.com/

Clementine Schneidermann http://clementineschneider.tumblr.com/

Robin Schwartz http://robinschwartz.tumblr.com/

Maggie Shannon http://maggieshannon.tumblr.com/

Ginevra Shay http://ginevrashay.tumblr.com/

Erin Shipley http://etshipley.tumblr.com

Annie Sollinger http://bunnybunnyrabbit.tumblr.com/

Melissa Stallard http://melissastallard.tumblr.com/

Jamie Steele http://jamiesteele.tumblr.com/

Samantha Sutcliffe http://samanthasutcliffe.tumblr.com/

Shannon Taggart http://shannon-taggart.tumblr.com/

Yvonne Todd http://yvonnetodd.tumblr.com/

Lauren Wansker http://laurenwansker.tumblr.com/

LIndley Warren http://lindleywarren.tumblr.com/

Elizabeth Weinberg http://scrapbook.elizabethweinberg.com/

Sara J Winston http://jwwwinston.tumblr.com/

Tara Wray http://tarawray.tumblr.com/

Jaclyn Wright http://jaclynrwright.tumblr.com/

Jessica Xie http://jessicaxiephoto.tumblr.com/

And check out Accent Magazine http://blog.accent-magazine.com/  and Las Brujas de Plata http://lasbrujasdeplata.tumblr.com/.

the problem here is making a list to begin with.

just wanted to add some ladies

Caroline Tompkins http://carolinetompkins.tumblr.com/

Kelly Surdo http://lly-k.tumblr.com/

Eleanor Bleier http://kebleier.tumblr.com/

Morgan Maher http://mmaher95.tumblr.com/

Amy Harrity http://amyharrity.tumblr.com/

Heather Sten http://heathersten.tumblr.com/

Stephanie Gonot http://stephaniegonot.tumblr.com/

→ Oct 2014 my grandpa in front of a red car and a blue car 
2013

my grandpa in front of a red car and a blue car 

2013

→ Oct 2014

alexihobbs:

selektormagazine:

100 photographers on Tumblr

(FR) Commencé en février, le répertoire des photographes recommandés compte à présent 100 photographes. Pour fêter ça, les voici tous réunis dans un slideshow de presque 10 minutes, et n’oubliez pas les enfants, toujours créditer les artistes:

(EN) Started in February, the directory of recommended photographers now has 100 photographers. To celebrate, here they are all together in a slideshow of nearly 10 minutes, and remember kids, always credit the artists:

  1. Rickard Aall
  2. Ethan Aaro Jones
  3. Delaney Allen
  4. Adam Amengual
  5. Ben Anderson
  6. Daniel Arnold
  7. Peter Baker
  8. Adam Bellefeuil
  9. Charles Bouchaib
  10. Matt Bower
  11. Timothy Briner
  12. William James Broadhurst
  13. Steven Brooks
  14. Jared Buschang
  15. João Canziani
  16. Elias Carlson
  17. Alex Catt
  18. Carlos Chavarría
  19. Cody Cobb
  20. Grant Cornett
  21. Clayton Cotterell
  22. Alex Crétey Systermans
  23. Stevie Dacanay
  24. Lindsay D’Addato
  25. Jonathan Deltour
  26. Bobby Doherty
  27. Cédric Dubus
  28. Jessica Eaton
  29. Clemens Fantur
  30. Michael David Friberg
  31. Paul Garcia
  32. Viktor Gardsater
  33. Vincent Glielmi
  34. Patrick Gookin
  35. Emiliano Granado
  36. Grégoire Grange
  37. Anna Paola Guerra
  38. Carl Gunhouse
  39. Sam A. Harris
  40. Osma Harvilahti
  41. William Hess
  42. Todd Hido
  43. Alexi Hobbs
  44. Peter Hoffman
  45. Theron Humphrey
  46. Tristan Hutchinson
  47. Patrick Joust
  48. Mikael Kennedy
  49. Stacy Kranitz
  50. Sannah Kvist
  51. Winslow Laroche
  52. Jack Latham
  53. Dominique Legrand
  54. Matthieu Litt
  55. Thomas Locke Hobbs
  56. Erik Lovold
  57. Shane Lynam
  58. Ross Mantle
  59. Alex Matzke
  60. Julien Mauve
  61. Michael Christopher McCraw
  62. Nich Hance McElroy
  63. Greg Miller
  64. Bobby Mills
  65. Nguan
  66. Stephanie Noritz
  67. Paccarik Orue
  68. Nathan Osterhaus
  69. Ed Panar
  70. Steven Paneccasio
  71. Laura Pannack
  72. Sarah Pannell
  73. Dany Peschl
  74. John Francis Peters
  75. Mark Power
  76. Missy Prince
  77. Thomas Prior
  78. Ernest Protasiewicz
  79. Andrew Querner
  80. Benjamin Rasmussen
  81. Patrick Romero
  82. Chris Round
  83. Whitten Sabbatini
  84. Iain Sarjeant
  85. Bryan Schutmaat
  86. Olivier Seignette
  87. Daniel Shea
  88. David Simonton
  89. Alex JD Smith
  90. Smithyphoto
  91. Rob Stephenson
  92. Sean Stewart
  93. Wouter Van de Voorde
  94. Maurice Van Es
  95. Thorir Vidar
  96. Cyrille Weiner
  97. Harley Weir
  98. Mark Wickens
  99. Geordie Wood
  100. Michael Wriston

Photographers A-Z page

Selektor Magazine

Great list to be a part of!

8/100 women

→ Oct 2014

orchid in the back seat and mr cats on the back porch